Blog Archive

View My Stats
Saturday, March 21, 2009

Angry Robot Signs Dan Abnett, Live Webcast Events for Bestselling author Patrick Carman, and Launch Event for “Garbage Man” & “The Absence”...

Angry Robot, HarperCollins’ new imprint devoted to all that’s new in genre fiction including SF, F and WTF?!, recently announced the signing of noted SF & Fantasy author Dan Abnett for three original novels.

Dan Abnett made his name in the tie-in SF & Fantasy fiction field, selling more than 1.2 million copies of his Warhammer 40,000 novels, which have also been translated into ten other languages. He’s also recently made the UK fiction charts with original Torchwood and Doctor Who novels. His comic book scripts, for major publishers such as Marvel, DC and the UK’s 2000 AD, have attracted critical plaudits and strong sales on both sides of the Atlantic.

The three novels for
Angry Robot will allow Abnett to play to all his strengths as a writer. His penchant for wildly imaginative world-building and lovable characters comes to the fore in “Triumph”, a ribald historical fantasy set in a warped version of our present day . . . only with Elizabeth the First on the throne. This will be published by Angry Robot, in both the UK and US, in October 2009.

Next year will see two novels in a stunning new future-war setting. “Embedded” sends a journalist into the frontline of a distant planetary war . . . chipped inside the head of a combat veteran. When the soldier is killed, the journo must use all his resourcefulness to get safely home again, reporting on a live feed all the way. No one writes future war as well as
Dan Abnett, and fans of tie-in series such as Gaunt’s Ghosts and his Horus Heresy novels will be blown away by this bold new move into original science fiction.

For more information, please visit the
Official Dan Abnett Website or the Official Angry Robots Website.

Moving on, bestselling author
Patrick Carman, creator of the multimedia ghost story sensation “Skeleton Creek”, will participate in two LIVE web-cast events on Monday, March 23rd at 10:00AM PST and 4:30PM PST during which he’ll talk about “Skeleton Creek” and answer viewer questions. To participate in the LIVE Q&A, please visit the website HERE during the webcast.


Skeleton Creek” is a multimedia ghost story—the first in a two-book series. It engages middle-grade readers through a combination of written story and more than an hour of original online videos produced by Patrick Carman’s own PC Studios in Walla Walla, Washington. The story is broken into two parts, created by the book’s main characters, best friends Sarah and Ryan who, after a mysterious accident injuring Ryan, have been separated by their parents. The book is Ryan’s story, which he chronicles in a journal for Sarah. Meanwhile, Sarah sends Ryan messages via videos—links to nine videos appear interspersed throughout the book, accessed online with passwords provided in the book. Together, the book and videos reveal three things: the past is dangerous, the present is haunted and the future is deadly.


Patrick Carman is the author of the New York Times bestselling Land of Elyon series, and “Elliot’s Park”, a chapter book series for younger readers. Among his forthcoming projects is Book #5 in the bestselling multiplatform The 39 Clues series.

Finally, on May 7, 2009, authors
Joseph D’Lacey, Bill Hussey and Mathew F. Riley will be hosting a special event in celebration of the launch of Horror Reanimated—a new blog dedicated to the genre in all its forms—and the forthcoming release of the novels “Garbage Man” and “The Absence”. There will be a brief talk and readings from each author followed by a Q&A session. An illustrated, limited edition, signed Horror Reanimated chapbook containing a piece of short fiction by each author will be available FREE for every attendee! Details below:

Thursday, May 7th from 6.45 – 8.15pm
Borders, Oxford Street

Event will followed by drinks from 8:15 onwards at
The White Horse, Newburgh Street.



Click Here To Order “Cardinal Black” by Robert McCammon!!!

Order HERE


Click Here To Order “Cyber Mage” by Saad Z. Hossain

Order HERE


Click Here To Order “Miss  Percy's” by Quenby Olson!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “The True Bastards” by Jonathan French!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “Rumble In Woodhollow” by Jonathan Pembroke!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “The Starless Crown” by James Rollins!!!
Order HERE