Blog Archive

View My Stats
Wednesday, January 4, 2012

News about the Demon Cycle saga by Peter V. Brett ( By Mihir Wanchoo)

(Photo Credit: Peter V. Brett)

At Fantasy Book Critic, Liviu and me are big fans of Peter V. Brett’s Demon Cycle series. The first book The Painted Man was something of a book of the year for me. The author soon followed it up with The Desert Spear and the sequel built upon its predecessor’s premise and also doubled the POV list. The book’s ending made the next book seem very promising however the next book wasn’t complete and 2012 was tentatively floated around as a publication date of sorts but it was never confirmed. The writing however took its own time and around the same time the author also had to contend with health issues which reduced his writing speed.

So it was to my pleasure when I saw Peter blog about it and give out a release date of sorts for The Daylight War, the third book in the series. The current date heralded by the author is February 4, 2013. While it does seem a bit far away fans need not despair, along with the date proclamation. Peter also revealed a bunch of stuff about his series namely clearing the air about it not being a trilogy but a quintet. Also after the series gets over there will be a sixth book featuring a minor character called Selia Barren and is tentatively titled “Tibbet’s Brook”. To quote Peter it is basically “Selia’s life story and how it affects her decisions in the present as she contends with corelings, Krasians, and the growing power of Southwatch, all while wrestling the demons of her own past.”

Following the pattern of his previous novellas "The Great Bazaar" and "Brayan's Gold" there will be another novella out which is tentatively called “Mudboy” and features the titular character who originally was part of the Daylight War storyline however the author felt the character deserved his own story and hence the novella. There will be other novellas released in between the books and more information will revealed as time passes.

The remaining books in the Demon Cycle saga have the following titles and all of them are subject to change:
- The Forest Fortress [4th book of the Demon Cycle]
- The Core [5th book of the Demon Cycle and series end]
- Tibbet’s Brook [ 6th book in the series and a standalone work]

With such wonderful news being revealed I can’t wait to read the next book and novella and see where Peter plans to take the reader next in his demon infested world.


Anonymous said...

Me am a big fan? How about proofing your work. Your sentence should state, "X and I are big fans...." How do you expect any one to take your writings seriously if you can't even use the English language correctly.

Liviu said...

Sorry for that, but the Internet is a large place and you can go and read tons of other reviews, nobody forces you to come here.

Hiding behind an anon handle also makes one wonder "if you cannot use a real name/pseudonym, why should I care about your opinion?"

Any further comment on this topic without a real name is going to be deleted as against "no personal attacks" policy

Nathan Washor said...

Yeah, that was pretty lame. Everyone makes typos once in a while and I for one appreciate Liviu's reviews. I don't always agree with them (too many A+ and A++s), but he's usually pretty good about pointing me in the right direction.

Liviu said...

Thank you for your comment - what annoyed me was the "learn English" arrogance

As for grading books, i partly agree with you (it's an old issue which I never saw how to solve easily but that's a long discussion) so for now I am trying to just rate them as recommended, top 25, readable, mediocre etc and you supply your personal rating for each category so to speak.

As always any constructive criticism and any suggestions are welcome and i appreciate feedback.

Zamran said...

Well this is great news, I've been a huge Brett fan (thanks to this site). In a way i am a lil disappointed that the last book isn't about the character's i like, but i'm sure Peter will make e like them

oh this site is my #1 place for reviews ijs XP

Ron Buckmire said...

Very sad there's no more Peter V. Brett novels until 2013 but psyched we have more informationabout the entire story structure of the Demon [strike]Trilogy[/strike] Series.

I wonder when Rothfuss is going to come clean about the Kvothe series and let us know it won't be a trilogy after all? :)

DurzoBlint26 said...

When I first read The Warded Man I was both thrilled and intrigued by the storyline and characters and the great development of the book in general. I was disappointed however to learn that the next book wouldn't be released until 6 or so months after this. Having read The Desert Spear already I am now frustrated yet again. The plot of the first two books has now fled from memory and I have no idea what's going on. These books need to be released in a more timely manner. Understandably the man is ill but books are not like movies.

The Reader said...

@ DurzoBlint26

The plot remembrance issue is something most readers face when faced with waiting between volumes, GRRM's readers have a similar issue but they have many websites wherein the book plots are detailed.

For you what I would recommend is visiting this page
It has some info about the characters and books and hopefully will be built up as the time goes along.



Click Here To Order “The Combat Codes” by Alexander Darwin!!!

Order HERE


Click Here To Order “Spirits of Vengeance” by Rob J. Hayes

Order HERE


Click Here To Order “TSairĊ’s Claw” by Virginia McClain!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “The Company Of Birds” by Nerine Dorman!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “The True Bastards” by Jonathan French!!!
Order HERE


Click Here To Order “Rumble In Woodhollow” by Jonathan Pembroke!!!
Order HERE