Blog Archive

View My Stats
Thursday, December 30, 2021

The Starless Crown by James Rollins (reviewed by Mihir Wanchoo)

 


Official Author Website
Pre-order The Starless Crown over HERE
Read A Paean To Myrillia (The Godslayer Chronicles World And Series Analysis
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of Subterranean
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of The Judas Strain
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of The Doomsday Key
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of The Last Oracle
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of The Devil Colony
Read Fantasy Book Critic’s review of The Blood Gospel
Read Fantasy Book Critic's Q&A with James Rollins (James Clemens)
Tuesday, December 28, 2021

Graphic Novel Review: The Spire by Simon Spurrier & Jeff Stokely

 


Book links: Amazon, Goodreads

About Simon Spurrier: Simon "Si" Spurrier writes novels and comics.

His work in the latter field stretches from award winning creator-owned books such as 'The Spire', 'Coda' and 'Angelic' to projects in the U.S. mainstream like 'Hellblazer', 'The Dreaming' and 'X-Men'. He and his works have been nominated for Eisner Awards multiple times.

His prose works range from the beatnik neurosis-noir of 'Contract' ("A tour de force" - The Times) to the occult whodunnit 'A Serpent Uncoiled' ("Gargantuan literary flourishes" - The Truth About Books). His experimental e-novella 'Unusual Concentrations' was shortlisted for the Shirley Jackson Awards.

He lives in Margate, UK.

Publication date: December 20, 2020 Publisher: BOOM! Studios Page count: 208 p 

Friday, December 24, 2021

Book review: Queen of Bedlam by Robert McCammon

 


Book links: AmazonGoodreads

Series links: 

SPEAKS THE NIGHTBIRD—FBC Review —Amazon 


AUTHOR INFO: Robert Rick McCammon was a full-time horror writer for many years. Among his many popular novels were the classics Boy's Life and Swan Song. After taking a hiatus for his family, he returned to writing with an interest in historical fiction.

McCammon resides in Birmingham, Alabama. He is currently working on the eighth Matthew Corbett novel, The King of Shadows.

Publisher: Gallery Books (October 21, 2007) Length: 656 pages

Fantasy Book Critic's Most Anticipated Books of 2022 (Part II) [by Caitlin G., Lukasz P. & Mihir W.]

 



Continuing on from yesterday's list, here's the second and final part of our most anticipated 2022 titles. We have included both trad-published and indie titles and quite a few indie titles don't have any cover art to reveal (so far). However there are many books that have not been confirmed and so we cannot include them. We have listed a few of our beloved authors whose books are must reads but haven't revealed their 2022 releases.

 So onwards to part II now:
Thursday, December 23, 2021

Fantasy Book Critic's Most Anticipated Books of 2022 (Part I) [by Caitlin G., Lukasz P. & Mihir W.]

 


As 2021 comes to an end, we at Fantasy Book Critic are looking forward to 2022 and the plethora of wonderful books that will be unleashed. Caitlin, Lukasz and I (Mihir) are eagerly awaiting quite many titles from our favourite authors, some debuts and many whose preceding series titles were fantastic.  We have tried to collect as much accurate information from the authors, their websites, the publishers and Amazon/GR sites. If there's any mistakes to be found, please let us know and we will correct them pronto. 

Monday, December 20, 2021

The Liar's Knot by M.A. Carrick - Review

Official Author Website
Order the book HERE
Read Caitlin's review of The Mask of Mirrors HERE

OFFICIAL AUTHOR BIO: M.A. Carrick is the joint pen name of Marie Brennan (author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent) and Alyc Helms (author of the Adventures of Mr. Mystic). The two met in 2000 on an archaeological dig in Wales and Ireland — including a stint in the town of Carrickmacross — and have built their friendship through two decades of anthropology, writing, and gaming. They live in the San Francisco Bay Area.

(And if you were wondering: Marie’s name is accented on the second syllable, mah-REE, and Alyc’s name is uh-LISS, “like a list of items without the T.” Marie is she/her, and Alyc is they/them.
Monday, December 13, 2021

SPFBO Finalist Review: Hall of Bones by Tim Hardie


Book Links: Goodreads, Amazon

Sunday, December 12, 2021

SPFBO Finalist Interview: Tim Hardie, the author of Hall of Bones



Author info: Tim Hardie grew up in the seaside town of Southport during the 1970s and 1980s. This was before anyone had even heard of the internet and Dungeons & Dragons was cutting edge. Living in a house where every available wall was given over to bookshelves, he discovered fantasy writers like JRR Tolkien, Michael Moorcock, Ursula Le Guin, Alan Garner, Stephen Donaldson and Susan Cooper. Those stories led him into the science fiction worlds created by Frank Herbert, Philip K Dick, Arthur C Clarke and HP Lovecraft.

After training to become a lawyer Tim lived in London for three years before moving to Yorkshire in 1999, where he has worked ever since in a variety of legal, commercial, financial and management roles. His writing began as a hobby in his early twenties and has gradually grown into something else that now threatens to derail his promising career.

Tim writes epic fantasy that will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie, John Gwynne and Robin Hobb.

Find Tim online: WebsiteTwitter,

Book Information: Hall of Bones Series: The Brotherhood of the Eagle Published: November 25, 2020 Genre: Dark Fantasy Pages: 421 

Book Links: GoodreadsAmazon

Thursday, December 9, 2021

Book Review: Spidertouch by Alex Thomson

 


Order Spidertouch HERE

AUTHOR INFO: Alex Thomson is the author of Death of a Clone, published in 2018. He lives in Letchworth Garden City - home of the UK's first roundabout - and his day job is a French and Spanish teacher in Luton

Release Date: December 14, 2021 Publisher: Angry Robot Pages: 288 Cover design: Kieryn Tyler

Monday, December 6, 2021

Book Review: Cyber Mage by Saad Z. Hossain

 


Book links: Amazon, Goodreads


About Saad: Saad Z. Hossain writes in a niche genre of fantasy, science fiction and black comedy with an action-adventure twist. He is the author of Escape from Baghdad! and Djinn City.

Published: December 7, 2021 Publisher: The Unnamed Press Page count: 288 pages

Thursday, December 2, 2021

Book review: Speaks the Nightbird by Robert McCammon

 

Book links: Amazon, Goodreads

AUTHOR INFO: Robert Rick McCammon was a full-time horror writer for many years. Among his many popular novels were the classics Boy's Life and Swan Song. After taking a hiatus for his family, he returned to writing with an interest in historical fiction.

McCammon resides in Birmingham, Alabama. He is currently working on the eighth Matthew Corbett novel, The King of Shadows.


Publisher: Gallery Books (July 17, 2007) Length: 816 pages

The Wildfire Cycle series Q&A with D.P. Woolliscroft (interviewed by Mihir Wanchoo)

 


Order Kingshold over HERE
Order Ioth, City Of Lights over HERE
Order The Wildfire Cycle: Part I over HERE
Read Fantasy Book Critic's review of Ioth, City of Lights

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “Cardinal Black” by Robert McCammon!!!


Order HERE

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “Cyber Mage” by Saad Z. Hossain


Order HERE

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “Miss  Percy's” by Quenby Olson!!!
Order HERE

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “The True Bastards” by Jonathan French!!!
Order HERE

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “Rumble In Woodhollow” by Jonathan Pembroke!!!
Order HERE

NOTEWORTHY RELEASES

Click Here To Order “The Starless Crown” by James Rollins!!!
Order HERE